Pre-Orders, Sticking on Amazon and Hitting Best Seller Lists

I love finding interesting blog posts by other writers and authors. You can learn so much. When I first decided to go back into publishing after my foray into that field many years ago (when publishing was so very different and less self-pub friendly) I began to do my research, as any of us should do.

I read a lot of blogs, did a lot of searching out tidbits and information about this new industry that was developing. There’s so much information out here on the WWW highway, but I soon learned to be discerning and read blog posts by authors whose names kept popping up as being leaders or at least a light in the self publishing field as it developed back in 2012.

So when I find something relevant and packed with good information, I love passing it along. Saw this on Facebook today via The Creative Penn The Creative Penn – Joanna Penn who always has lots of good information and does some interesting and varied podcasts.

So here is today’s reblogged post from Lindsay Buroker on her experience with pre-orders. I’ve tried them but quite honestly there wasn’t much fan fare about it. I really think you need to build it up substantially by whatever means, paid or organic on your social media outlets to get the notice that will bump the work up before it actually goes on sale. Here is the link to the informative article.

When to Use Pre-Orders

My thoughts and comment:  I’ve tried pre-orders through Smashwords on two books in a Fantasy Romance series, book 2 and 3 for Faeries Lost, but I don’t have an extensive mailing list at the moment. I also did the pre-order on the 3rd book on Amazon, sold a few and I mean a few copies. lol. For me at this point it’s not worth it. Also, I may be in my own little dimension with my writing because I write in 6 different genres. 🙂

About gracebranniganauthor

I am an author living in the Catskill Mountains of New York. I write strong women into contemporary romance and time travel romance. I also write romance shorts, faerie romances, Young Adult time travels with a twist, children's picture books and Mandala Art and coloring books! Obviously, I like diversity. http://www.gracebrannigan.com
This entry was posted in amazon, bestseller lists, grace brannigan, pre orders and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

