All the Ways to Self-Publish A Book on Amazon

This will be an ongoing series. Yay. Reblogged from ALLI selfpublishingadvice.org.

ALLI Self Publishing Advice

Self-Publishing: How do we love thee? Let us count the ways.

Over the coming weeks, Orna Ross and Valerie Shanley are building the latest versions of ALLi’s How-To Guides to the most crucial publishing platforms for indie authors.

First up: who else? Amazon.

Please read the article at the link above. Nice summary.

My thoughts: Good summary. I wondered myself about the Amazon giveaway, but decided to stick with experimenting with the Goodreads giveaway instead for my paperbacks. More cost effective than Amazon and more control. Now that I’m familiar with Createspace and have the kinks worked out in uploading my books, it’s a bit easier. I upload a doc and find the system a bit clunky and repetitive. One thing that irks me is I have to keep putting in the finish for the book cover because it keeps going away, and sometimes after you use the cover creator to place your own graphics for front and back covers, you have to do that sometimes 2 or 3 times as it says it’s not ready. Overall, it works in the end and no money up front is of course attractive. I’ve found their support pretty quick to help with any issues. One time I forgot to put in all of the subtitle after the ISBN and everything went through and support fixed it for me. I publish on Amazon and tried the exclusivity in the beginning (2012) however, I no longer want to tie my books up in such a way. I also publish on Smashwords and make them available everywhere, and while in the beginning I was selling more on Amazon, I am by far selling more through Smashword channels.

About gracebranniganauthor

I am an author living in the Catskill Mountains of New York. I write strong women into contemporary romance and time travel romance. I also write romance shorts, faerie romances, Young Adult time travels with a twist, children's picture books and Mandala Art and coloring books! Obviously, I like diversity. http://www.gracebrannigan.com
This entry was posted in amazon, createspace, self publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

