Reblogged from Self Publishing Advice at ALLI blog – Why you should do a Goodreads Giveaway

I just read a very good post about doing Goodreads giveaways over at ALLI blog, link below. I’ve been doing them for my books which now number over 20 or maybe closer to 30 (yes, I don’t know how many, I just get in a creative buzz and create)

Goodreads giveaway and why you should do it

So I offered my experience in the comment section, which I am reposting here because it’s valuable insight into how it’s working out for me and how I’ve tweaked my giveaways just a bit since I began a year or so ago.

My comment on my experience:

I have been experimenting with Goodreads giveaway for the last year with my romance books. I have over 20 books (romance, YA, picture books and art series) so it’s fairly easy to do a different book each month.

Some months I have also had two giveaways going at the same time, one for my children’s picture books and one for romance. I recently published a new series of Mandalas, so I will be uploading the information on those books and offering paperback giveaways for that series also.

I usually run the giveaway for an entire month, though the picture books I am experimenting with running those for the maximum time Goodreads allows, which is about 2-2.5 months. There seems to be a boost in the very beginning and then at the very end as noted above. I generally get about 600 to 1100 entries per book.

I tried doing only a two week giveaway and I didn’t get as much of a response for some reason, so for romance I usually stick with 1 month. In the beginning I only did the US, but of late I have tried including EVERYWHERE overseas. With new postal rates, it costs almost $12 to send a book from upstate NY to anywhere overseas. (My romance books are in the 50 to 80k range).

In the beginning I also offered 5 books with no noticeable change in the amount of entries, so now I generally do 2 copies for a giveaway. I always have people contact me via Goodreads after the giveaway ends for free paperback copies to review. I don’t send paperbacks anymore, as my experience has been reviews don’t show up. In future I will probably stick mostly to US entries only because of postal expense.

I like Goodreads in general, but as stated above I agree that reviews can dip lower than Amazon or other places. Some can be downright, oh my gosh! And there is the ability to leave just a rating with no explanation of a review. I do wish Goodreads would have reader’s attached to the review instead of being just a button to hit, but it is what it is.

I have seen a bump in my Amazon paperback sales for some of my titles here and overseas, but I don’t know if it’s related to Goodreads or otherwise. So at this time I intend to continue with Goodreads giveaways.

About gracebranniganauthor

I am an author living in the Catskill Mountains of New York. I write strong women into contemporary romance and time travel romance. I also write romance shorts, faerie romances, Young Adult time travels with a twist, children's picture books and Mandala Art and coloring books! Obviously, I like diversity. http://www.gracebrannigan.com
This entry was posted in Goodreads, grace brannigan, paperback giveaway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

