Figuring out what works for selling more Romance ebooks

I’ve been experimenting and plan to continue experimenting all of 2013 with my books in KDP Select. Only one book a month will fall into the 5 day promotion. I decided no more expensive paid promotions, and my idea of expensive is from $100 to $400 a pop for a one day promotion.

I did the above paid experiments with some very good services, and while it garnered some sales, not enough to cover the cost. Only my experience, mind you, and there were no doubt factors that played into this. I had only one review on the book at the time, my book could have been lost in the large romance shuffle, etc., etc. and it was the only promo I ran at the time without doing much else.

So, I then put up my time travel Treasure So Rare on KDP and now I began to see some love and spillover for my other books also. (I have 3 time travel and 4 contemporary romance and 2 shorts). That result still trickles in here and there. My first book in the time travel series Once Upon a Remembrance seems to be going the strongest January, February and March and now into April.

My contemporary romance Heartstealer – no reviews at the time – gave away a little over 11k free copies, and this is 1 of 4 contemporary romances and the love spilled over into all my other books again, bringing the books up from the dregs of the 300k’s in ranking to under 100k and in some cases around the 20k’s for about 3 weeks. Of course there was plenty of fluctuation during that time. It also began to sell rather well on the UK Amazon.

Heartstealer sat at #1 in Romance Westerns for 3 days and in the top 10 from day 2 to 5. Then it settled for a few weeks from 22k to 40k in the ranking in the US Amazon.

In January I sold 130 ebooks, February 290 and March I sold 393 ebooks with my 9 romances available. Basically, it came out about $2 a book so you can figure the math. Investment for promotion was $25.00 with James over at www.ebookbooster. Now their price has jumped a bit to $35.00. Obviously, still a great deal and you need to give them like 2 weeks notice ahead of time for your KDP select info.

When using ebookbooster, three of the promo sites James submitted my book Heartstealer to featured my romance for one of the days it was free. They were nice enough to email me and let me know. I friended all the free promo places on facebook and twitter, and some of them retweeted my tweet to their followers the day of freebie.

I also posted to my facebook page a few times during the promo. I tweeted about the free promo once a day on Twitter. As you can see I’m not into going crazy.

So for April I will be conducting a new experiment with another contemporary romance.

Oh, and have I made back the money spent on quality cover design and copy editing services on 9 books? Not yet, but I expect to before the end of 2013.

My books will be in KDP for the three months then pulled out. Next year I will decide if I’m going to recycle things again. I also plan to have a new Faerie trilogy coming out before the end of 2013, so those books will go into KDP fresh off the editing table, bringing my book count up to 12 romances, once for each month. 🙂

 Right now I still have 6 other romances everywhere else, including Smashwords, iBookstore, Barnes and Noble and Kobo. I wish my books there were selling a well as at Amazon, with or without KDP, but it hasn’t happened yet.

I’m a writer because I love it and have been doing it for about 40 plus years. I love it, yes, but it’s also a business for me, and I treat it as such, tweaking here and there to figure things out as I go along.  Sometime mid May I will be posting results on my most recent experiment.

About gracebranniganauthor

I am an author living in the Catskill Mountains of New York. I write strong women into contemporary romance and time travel romance. I also write romance shorts, faerie romances, Young Adult time travels with a twist, children's picture books and Mandala Art and coloring books! Obviously, I like diversity. http://www.gracebrannigan.com
This entry was posted in eBook, grace brannigan, indie author, kdp select, kindle, Once and Always by Grace Brannigan, romance, romance series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

