Copyrighting your work

I know some authors don’t bother, but I feel it’s really important to copyright your work, just as I feel it’s important to have my ISBN’s for every ebook version and paperback version, linked to my publishing company Questor Books.

I know there is an implied copyright once something is created, the life of the author plus 70 years,but I like the official version of copyright, you know, filling out the confusing forms. And now they have it so you can do it online. You can save a template and wow, it moves it pretty fast. I copyrighted my first 4 titles online at the US Copyright office today, and somehow, two of them ended up with the same title. I put in all the correct titles, uploaded the correct word file and WTH?

So now I have emailed the copyright office to hopefully fix the snafu.

Of course I won’t hear anything before Tuesday, but I’ve found them helpful in the past so I hope to get this straightened out without having to pay again and without my books having the wrong titles. Go figure.

About gracebranniganauthor

I am an author living in the Catskill Mountains of New York. I write strong women into contemporary romance and time travel romance. I also write romance shorts, faerie romances, Young Adult time travels with a twist, children's picture books and Mandala Art and coloring books! Obviously, I like diversity. http://www.gracebrannigan.com
This entry was posted in grace brannigan, indie author, romance, romance author, romance series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

